Will A+ Certification get me a job in IT field?

AttorneyAttorney Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I am currently in University of Waterloo for Biological Science, however I don't feel as interested in my program as I do with technology, computers, and networking. I currently don't want to switch programs because it will be a big hassle for me, so I'll just finish it as I am in my 3rd year.

I have been building/tweaking/diagnosing computers all my life, however none of it in a professional environment. I considered it more of a hobby back in the day. Now however, I am considering doing it as a career. I discovered A+ certificate when looking around in job postings, where an employer was looking for a technician with a college degree or an A+ certificate. I looked into it and it seems like exactly what I want to get, to atleast get an entry level job for experience. I am afraid however, that once I get it, I still won't find a job and the 300 dollars that I will spend on the exams will be for naught.

So I ask you guys, is getting the A+ certificate a good idea for me? This field is where my interest lies and something I feel very passionate about. Do you guys have any other advice?

Thanks.

Comments

• sid101sid101 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If you are thinking of changing career to IT, then definitely getting an A+ is a good idea. As far as getting a job, there is always a risk that some employers might reject you but you have to keep trying if you wanna work in the field. I believe that money would be worth the risk.
  • Michael.J.PalmerMichael.J.Palmer Member Posts: 407 ■■■□□□□□□□