Options

how difficult are the MCDST exams?

dsa1971dsa1971 Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm curious to get people's opinions on how difficult the exams are. I've been a programmer for almost 10 years now and have somewhat tired of that arena so I may try to move towards a network admin position. Even though my title has been programmer at most companies I've ended up, like most people, wearing differents like help desk, pc tech, and some minor network stuff as well. Since I don't have any certs I thought I would start with A+ which I am studying for now, then Network+. After that, it's sort of up in the air. I'm wondering if going for MCDST might be worth the effort before I start in on MCSA. Do most people find the MCDST exams fairly easy when compared to other certs?

Comments

• Options
    TheShadowTheShadow Member Posts: 1,057 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I don't think anyone can truly answer that for you. It depends on your background. Beginners seem to find these tests difficult I guess simply because they are beginners. The tests require analytical thinking as used in troubleshooting. You have been programming for a while so I suspect some of the answers will be common sense for you.

This cert concentrates on user support problems. One test is heavy into installation problems and one test is heavy into application failure problems mainly Office, Explorer and Outlook. Mobile user problems and security are also covered. Your best bet is to get the objectives from Microsoft's site and go over them. Secondly MS has a free on-line study course that you can sign up for and use for six months I think.

I took the two tests as a beta with a lot more questions, many bogus I assume and with no study material. Supposedly around 300 of us passed in that group as indicated by the program manager. My background is both hardware and programming.