How long did you study for ISACA Cert?

idr0pidr0p Member Posts: 104
Let hear is CISA/CISM..etc holders.

How long did you study for and whats your background in the subject?

Comments

• darkladdiedarkladdie Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I studied for about three weeks but I should of studied more; I should of studied at least for 5 weeks.
    I had my CISSP and Security+ and ITIL v3 foundation certificate and 14+ years of IT experience.
  • idr0pidr0p Member Posts: 104
    Removed Unnecessary Quote

Awesome thanks for the info I think i am going to start studying end of oct. for the dec 11th test.
  • badrottiebadrottie Member Posts: 116
    For the CISM? I barely studied, as there is a lot of overlap with the CISSP.

In case you are wondering what my study plan was for the CISSP, I did not go through the gruelling process of reading the AIO or OIG cover-to-cover either. I just read a few topics that I have not directly worked with in order to fill in a few knowledge gaps. (Honestly, if you know the material from having had to work with it extensively, studying is ancillary. As with all things, your milage may vary.)

10+ years information security experience, spread across all 10 CISSP CBK domains.
  • idr0pidr0p Member Posts: 104
    Nice, thanks for the input badrottie
    idr0p wrote: »
    Nice, thanks for the input badrottie

idr0p,

Please bear in mind what worked for me may not apply to you. We all bring our own experience and knowledge into the exam. I have had to work extensively doing risk analysis, information security program development/architecture/governance/management, incident response, DR/BCP, etc. As it turns out, those are the job practice areas that the CISM focuses on.