Losing steam while studying for A+

GatdamGatdam Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,
I've lurked for a while but this is my first post. I'm 23 years old and about to finish my Bachelors in Computer Info Systems in May at a BaM university in my home state (MI). I currently intern as an ITS Helpdesk Tech at a local agency.

This summer, I decided I wanted to start towards some IT certs, with the goal of completing at least A+ and Network+ before I graduate (my degree isn't as fancy as some that include certs with the degree). After shopping around a lot, I decided these were a good route to go for a baseline to start getting certs. My long term interests include Database Design/Administration and Virtualization, but I find most everything in IT interesting.

Going into my studying for A+, I figured that I already knew most of what would be in the book (I'm using the A+ Certification Passport book. After I finish the book I plan to watch some videos and complete a few practice exams before I take the exams), however, I am still learning a lot of little things here and there, and concepts that were foggy to me before are now much more clear.

Here's my problem: I work full time (until the Fall, when I'll be in school and working part time) and I live with my girlfriend and a roommate. When I have free time, I tend to spend it how I want to. I have a hard time really buckling down and studying, especially when it is sort of "extra-curricular" and I don't have a deadline like I do in school. I've always been a "right-brained" type and I tend to start a lot of "projects" that rarely see full completion, at least in a decent time frame.

Does anyone have any tips for finding motivation for self-studying?

Comments

• TackleTackle Member Posts: 534
    Gatdam wrote: »
    Does anyone have any tips for finding motivation for self-studying?