TCP/IP Illustrated, really?

Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
So I am not a full time networking guy. Honestly in my new job I don't do any networking at all. But I have some experience and it's certainly still an interest.

It seems people always want me to read TCP/IP Illustrated. So I went to go order a copy, then I saw "1994". Seriously? Is this needed? I mean, was TCP/IP even close to where it is now? Can a 17 year old book really still have that much value? Certainly better books have come out covering the moderns aspects of these protocols?

I just don't want another wasted book like the LAN Protocol handbook was.
-Daniel

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    It's dated a bit, yeah, and it's heavily oriented towards a unix admin, and more appropriately, a unix network stack programmer. Which doesn't mean that it's full of code. It covers fundamentals and principals. And it's probably the best tcpdump tutorial on the planet.

It's a little on the dry side, but honestly, so is every other text on TCP/IP I've ever read. It's not the most exciting topic in the world.

I also recommend Doug Comer's TCP/IP book. I've also heard good things about No Starch Presses TCP/IP Guide, but I've not personally read the book (the online version of the book can be found at Welcome to The TCP/IP Guide!)
  • thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
    I just bought that book a few two weeks ago, but I have not read it yet. I am going to start reading it, once I start my Switch studies. Also, the new edition is coming out soon, but can't remember the release date.

@Forsaken_GA, thanks man. I could not follow your ssh guide due to my Ubuntu desktop NIC just died, but I am able to telnet to my lab now using my console server.
    Studying:
    Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
    Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)