ASA 5510 price really?

itdaddyitdaddy Member Posts: 2,089 ■■■■□□□□□□
Guys can you help me understand my options?

You mean in order for me to buy a home lab ASA 5510? I am going to have to fork over 2,000.00 dollars for a security plus version on the low end?

I have my home asa 5505 but have been doing reading and I get no contexts?
really?..I want to setup at home our exact configs at work. We have these contexts: or setup not sure if they are alll context when I run the show context command i think only private, internet, and admin come up so does that mean i have the security plus license and not the base only license?

Internet
Private
System
admin

I hear admin is created by default so that leaves only 1 more available if you have the base license right? I am still learning so I could be wrong.

can yu guys help me. I have seen base license asa 5510s on ebay but that only gives me 2 contexts? is that right so really only 1 left after admin is created is that right? like I said I want to make the above configs like I have at work do I need the security plus license? to make Internet, Private, System, admin?icon_rolleyes.gif

Comments

• instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    This post claims that you can run multiple context through GNS3.

It would be worth checking out, yes?

GNS3 • ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned : HOWTOs - Page 2
    Currently Working: CCIE R&S
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/lewislampkin (Please connect: Just say you're from TechExams.Net!)
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yea those things are expensive man. Do you have partner status with Cisco? You may be able to get some non production ASAs at a significant discount.
  • shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    rack rentals are you friend.
    Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related
  • lrblrb Member Posts: 526