Help!!! I have virtually no understanding of virtualization.

Michael2Michael2 Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
Can someone please diagram this out for me or something? I've read a few articles but I just can't seem to grasp it.

Comments

• MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You need to narrow it down a little.

What don't you understand? Do you know what VMware is? Do you know how hardware works?
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Maybe you read something that is highly technical and need to start from the basics. Tell us what you've tried and we'll point you in the right direction.
  • Michael2Michael2 Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have an Associates degree in IT and am about to take the CompTIA Sec+ exam. The problem is that I seem to have graduated without an understanding of virtualization. I don't need to know a whole lot about it, but the test has a few questions about securing virtual environments and I thought it would help if I knew what they were talking about. Is it the same thing as cloud computing? What kind of data is stored on a virtual machine? What are the benefits of virtualization?
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    That was helpful.

Does this also mean that the virtual files are completely isolated from the physical computer's files and vice versa? Is it possible to create a VPN link between a virtual machine and a host of other computers without also giving users access to data on the physical computer that has the VMWare installed on it?
    Another question; What does it mean "guest OS image"? Does that mean that only the desktop is available on virtual machines?
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Michael2 wrote: »
    That was helpful.