HELP choosing certification to take?

dtakhardtakhar Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi folks

basic run down, i am in my 5th year of help desk/desk service desk tier 2 role. i would like to move into a tier 3 role of either a sys admin or network admin and be one of the specializaed guys that no longer works taking calls but focuses on third level support.

i have no certs just experience working for large orgazniations.

i am confused on what to take and what is no longer suppported and what is hot on the market right now.

things to remember i would like to do it myelf coz im on a budget and being a contractor my compnay wont pay for it.

i was told mcitp - server 2008 for sys admin or ccna for network admin.

i think sys admin will help me move up faster so i got the first of the exams books.

70-640 mcts for mcitp. now i just realized i will also need server 2008 which i have a trial on vmware is this enough? i dont wanna take it myself if i need more harware software.

someone help thx

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    That is enough, how much RAM have you got on your computer? Also keep in mind that these exams now test on Server 2008 R2, so you need a host computer that is 64bit which will let you create 64bit VM's.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • dtakhardtakhar Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    i have a laptop that has windows 7 64 bit on it. i have 500gb hard drive and 4g of ram. how much should i allocate for the vm image.

i am going to be putting it on a vm image i have vmware workstation 7.1.

what else would i need to properly pass the 70-640 exam. i got the study guide, i am talking more in terms of hardware.

would i need a full version of server 2008 r2. i got the trial version which is good for 180 days, althought it is asking for activation online.

thx
  • EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    dtakhar wrote: »