Powershell vs. Perl

djfunzdjfunz Member Posts: 307
So I was speaking with a co-worker today and we were having a conversation about scripting and how important it is for the Systems Admin. As you all may know, I'm a noob in the field and am continuing to learn every day. My colleague is of the opinion that Perl is a great starting language because it's able to be used across different platforms and once one learns Perl it's easy to learn PowerShell. Another co-worker is of the opinion that I should start with PowerShell because it's not as difficult and we're working directly with Server 2008 R2.

What are the opinions of some of the experienced TechExams members here?
WGU Progress - B.S. IT - Completed

Comments

• ipSpaceipSpace Member Posts: 147
    I like Python.
    In my opinion is better than Perl.

Do not know a lot about PowerShell, but if you are working mostly with Windows Servers, then PowerShell is your best choice.

If you work with linux/networking equipment Python would come in handy .

My Network & Security Blog with a focus on Fortigate. New post on how to create a fortigate ssl vpn.
  • RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    There is no reason to learn Perl if you will be working mostly with Windows systems.

If you are or are going to be a Windows admin you NEED to know PowerShell. No Windows admin who is aware of the direction that MS is taking both the OS and enterprise server applications (SharePoint, SQL Server, Exchange) could ever deny that PoSh is a requirement for a good Windows admin. Notice what I said - a REQUIREMENT - I did not say "a nice to have."

I'm not saying that you need to be a PowerShell guru. But all Windows admins need to know the basics and feel comfortable using the shell interactively, not just scripting.