Beyond pissed off about a colleague

CoolhandlukeCoolhandluke Member Posts: 118
I have been supporting a school for over 6 years now, since then my boss doesn't know his DHCP from his IPV6. I mean literately he has no clue about anything IT, he needs everything in layman's terms. well a co-worker has been stealing little things from the department and selling them on ebay (old motherboards, Apple mac remote, a mac book pro, Cat 5 cable) things like that, nothing major, but enough for me to report it to my superiors. they said, OK we will look into it...... 6 months go by.... nothing. Again he takes a motherboard, processor and memory from a system that the management know nothing about. I got really pissed off and reported it to senior management, they suspended him for 3 days (he admitted the lot) and say I must submit a report (that he gets a copy of) and that most likely he will get a warning and I am expected to work next to knowing that he has read the report telling his that I shopped him.

To say I am pissed off is an under statement. I have very high morals when it comes to honesty .
Should I have kept my mouth shut ?
Should I have taken advantage of the situation (taking things of my own) ?
Should I ditch the company and look to work elsewhere ?
any comments welcome !!!!!
[CCENT]->[CCNA]->[CCNP-ROUTE]->COLOR=#0000ff]CCNP SWITCH[/COLOR->[CCNP-TSHOOT]

Comments

• AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    Tell management what's going on. Either have them not give him a copy or make sure that they don't put your name or anything that would identify you on it.

If they're not willing to work with you on it then I'd suggest you start looking elsewhere.
  • colemiccolemic Member Posts: 1,569 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Is it in your corporate policy that you must write the report, and that it be given to him?
    Working on: staying alive and staying employed
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    colemic wrote: »