Need a break!!!

strauchrstrauchr Member Posts: 528 ■■■□□□□□□□
I think I seriously need a break, I just feel so burnt out from IT. I have been doing it for about 8 years now and just don't seem to have the passion for it anymore.

Maybe I need a break or change of profession.

I'm not really sure why. I think it may be 2 reasons.

1. I have just filled my head with so much computer knowledge I have forgotten everything else, not to mention studying hard and doing exams for what seems like forever. I am also finding myself forgetting things I used to know about computers because of all the new stuff I have to learn. And on top of it all I get no respect, everyone things we are just nerds who "talk" to computers all day and do nothing.

2. Maybe the novelty has worn off. Back when I started no one even knew what IT was or what it stood for. Only a few people were even interested in computers, or at the least fixing them. Now all of a sudden everyone I speak to, yeah I'm in IT, my brothers in IT, my Grandpa is in IT, my little sister is in IT it just never ends. Why do so many want to get into IT when not that long ago most didn't even care how to turn spell check off. Its just frustrating!! Its like everyone has invaded IT either for the money or because they think they are sh*t hot because they change a network card.

Both of those combined have probably lead to my feeling of being a souless desk jockey. I just do the things that interest me and that I enjoy but I am surrounded (in every job I go to) by half wits who are just in it for money or just think they know it all. I'm not saying I know it all but I do my best and admit when I don't know something.

I just can't wait for the day they turn IT into a real profession and you must be with a registered government approved body for IT so if you do the wrong thing you can be accountable and you also have to prove yourself.

Anyone else get these feelings?

Comments

• QUIX0TICQUIX0TIC Member Posts: 277