Local CC offereing CCNA Program

bmalin77bmalin77 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am completely new to this part of the IT world. I currently work in a global software company on the project mgmt app side. I have no experience with Cisco products, processes or technology. I was entertaining the thought of applying to a program that is being run by a community college near my home. Just looking for some opinions if it's worth to pay for it or if the CCNA is something I can train/prepare for on my own.

You can check out the program here.

MCCC :: Cisco Certified Network Associate

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Welcome aboard. CCNA is definitely achievable through self-study. If you have the discipline and desire and say go for it. I would save the money from the course and build a small lab.
  • bmalin77bmalin77 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the advice. Appreciated.
  • snokerpokersnokerpoker Member Posts: 661 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The local community college around here offers the network academy. I would loved to have done it years ago. Only issue I have with it is it requires you to take it for a year and go in two to three days a week.
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you are taking the classes as part of a degree program, or you require/prefer the structure and forced pace of a class, then taking the classes is a great idea. I fall into the first category, I was working on an Associates degree so I took them. They were great and having near 24/7 access to a room full of better equipment than I would ever be able to afford was great, as was having access to a very knowledgeable instructor.

That being said, if you don't fall into one of the two categories I previously mentioned, then you can go ahead and save your money and self study. You'll be able to do it yourself in a fraction of the time of the 4 classes.