Issue with Packet Tracer and running certain commands

JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
Greetings, I'm using Packet Tracer v5.3.1 with IOS v12.2.

I am trying to set a MOTD on 2960 Switch and also set it up for SSH, am I not able to do this for a Cisco switch? I tried doing this on a 2811 router and it worked fine. Here are the commands:
cisco_sw1#conf t
Enter configuration commands, one per line.  End with CNTL/Z.
cisco_sw1(config)#banner login # 2 years trying to get ccna #
                         ^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

cisco_sw1(config)#ip domain-name foo.com
                            ^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

I'm new to Packet Tracer, and have seen a few threads that it could be buggy.

thanks
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    Bug/not available/etc. Just wait, you'll fine more. It's a decent product but no where near a complete IOS copy.
  • Timber WolfTimber Wolf Member Posts: 90 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Not all the commands are available on all the devices. I just checked and looks like there is no banner login on the 2960 switch but it should be an available command on the routers.
    WGU BS IT - Security
    Need to complete: CSV1 BOV1 RIT1 BNC1 KET1 TPV1 MGC1 CJV1 KFT1 CNV1 SBT1 RGT1
    Completed: CUV1 CTV1
    Transferred: CVV1 DJV1 IWT1 IWC1 BVC1 QLT1 DHV1 HHT1 GAC1 DFV1 INT1 INC1 CPV1 AXV1 QBT1 LUT1 LAE1 CLC1 BBC1 AGC1 WFV1 CQV1 COV1
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Before you give up on a feature in PT, try it on a different device. There's a few things that are supported on one device but not another.
  • MrXpertMrXpert Member Posts: 586 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The login and motd commands are only available on the routers in packet tracer.