Certificaiton Path

unknown1234unknown1234 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a leading network administrator and information systems security officer for my command in the US Navy. This year I made it my goal to become more marketable for when I get out in 2010 (wow, I'm depressed now). Up to this point I've recieved my A+, Network+ and in a few weeks hopefully will recieve my Security+. I'm stuck on what to do after this Security+ certification. This is what I have in mind, in relation to my job and future assignments:

Server+
Project+
MSCA+Security
CCNA

What would be your recommendations? I would like to recieve some input, or possibly hearing about other certifications that will not only make me more marketable, but enhance my overall performance. Thank you.

Comments

• Ten9t6Ten9t6 Member Posts: 691
    Jcrutled,

Welcome to the board... :D

When you say marketable, do you mean in any particular area like security or networking..and so on?

I would say that you have a good base going. If you want to be an administrator somewhere, you will want the Microsoft certs. And since you have until 2010, I would go a head and get the MCSE:Security. :D
    Something else that you did not mention, that I think would be good, is a Linux / Unix cert. This combined with the others will open more doors for you.

If you are looking to focus in Networking, Cisco is always good. I would look at the CCNA / CCNP. I would also possibly look at Juniper and Extreme Networks.

For Security, finish the Security+ and start looking towards the SSCP and CISSP. You can also look at Vendor specific security certs, but those really won't help you much if you don't work w/ the equipment.

So, I guess it really depends on where you see yourself, and what all changes between now and 2010. icon_wink.gif

Kenny
    Kenny