Best security cert for healthcare field?

Hi all,

Im looking to advance myself a bit.... Just started a job at a healthcare practice last year and would like to add some security skills to my resume etc. I was thinking of going the Sec+, SSCP, CISSP route. Is there anything specific to healthcare that would make one option more attractive than another? Maybe a particular SANS or HIPAA cert i dont know about?

Thanks

Comments

• EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    HA!

The Healthcare industry doesn't care about security as much as you think they do/would/should.

GIAC used to have a HIPAA certification, the GHSC, but they retired it.

With my Security+ that I had from before I worked in Healthcare, I was one of only 2 people with any real Security knowledge, let alone a Security certification at the Healthcare organization I worked at (3000+ employees). The IT Director was a CISSP, but he quit because he got tired of no one really caring about security.

The route you're thinking of will be more than enough. It may not be too beneficial to you in the Healthcare industry, but could still be beneficial to you personally on your career path.

You'll find that nobody cares about security unless patient care is directly impacted by it (i.e. someone is injured or died because of a security issue that wasn't properly addressed) OR the organization loses a lot of money due to a HIPAA violation (i.e. someone hacks in and steals patient data). It's an afterthought, and preventative measures are ignored due to cost or convenience.
  • tdeantdean Member Posts: 520
    yeah, its funny that there are so many buzz word in health care regarding security but none seem to be followed. who knows if i'll stay in this field, i may as well do the Sec+ (again.... the have no record of me passing in 05?), then start the SSCP or maybe CCSP. Probably SSCP and see if theres anything about it im interested in.
  • jmasterj206jmasterj206 Member Posts: 471