Ram speed ?

motokxmotokx Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I am studying for the core hardware exam and am having a tough time finding a list or chart of some sort that will list the RAM speeds(Mhz) I know all the form factors,pins,bits, but just can't seem to find the speeds. If anyone knows of some lists or charts listing them I would truly appreciate it!!!
Thank-you!!

Comments

• kamilkamil Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
  • motokxmotokx Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the links!! I know, I thought the speeds may be overkill, but was not sure. Thanks again!!
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Nice links Kamil! Thanks for helping out :)

Good Question Motokx,

I think the links Kamil provided should give you a good overview of the ram. If you are not already working with various sticks of ram, it may take a little longer to be familiar with the sticks, but once you go over it a few times, maybe even 'assemble' (on paper) a few different systems, you'll begin to see the more common points.

'assemble' (on paper) - perhaps go to a local store, or visit sites on-line and research the correct components for the mobo you select in your simulated build. For example, if you select a Tyan mobo supporting an AMD chipset, also select one for a Pentium - see what each board takes according to the specs' and tested/approved ram.

Look at server mobo's and a couple generations back.

Use Crucial.com's ram selector to also confirm your size selection.

Can be good practice if you cannot build them yourself. Just a thought
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • motokxmotokx Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□