Switch Career from Programmer to Information Security

darkhors3darkhors3 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi guys

Im a .NET developer with 4 yrs exp and have a pretty decent pay. Im pretty good as a programmer.
I want to switch my career to Information security.
Im thinking of doing Security+ certification, is it going to help me get a job in this field. Also is my previous experience be of any use.
Any advice would be helpful.

Comments

• effektedeffekted Member Posts: 166
    Security+ is an entry level cert and almost all security jobs aren't going to be entry level. They'll assume you have a solid understanding (usually backed up with experience) of being a system/network administrator and etc. It is a good starting point for certifications and a lot of jobs especially in the DoD field will require that certification before you start getting access to things, etc.

With your background as a Programmer I would say your best bet at getting a security job would be web application security but by no means am I telling you that you can't go into network security or something, just might require more work and studying to build a solid understanding of what needs to be done in order to secure a network.
  • darkhors3darkhors3 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply.
    As a .Net developer i design web applications. Apart from that i can program in c, c++, perl, java and have a pretty good understanding of networking and computer fundamentals.
    Can i really get into Info sec with a security+ cert? What profile would i be offered?
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    When hiring managers see both software engineering and InfoSec experience on your resume, they'll tend to think you are an application pen tester (a la the OSCP certification) or a software dev security engineer (a la the CSSLP certification).