Options

Network+ or CCNA

djjunoxdjjunox Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a question concerning these two certs. I would like to know some opinions on which of these two or both to take. I am new to this, but I have some good experience with networking and computers, as I am in the Marine Corp and do this as my job everyday. I know that both are relatively the same, but with one made exclusively for CISCO. Any advice would be nice. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    determinedgermandeterminedgerman Member Posts: 168
    Hey djjunox,

Well... I have to disagree with you. Network+ and CCNA are not the same at all. The CCNA is going a lot deeper into the materials of networking in general.

I got my Network+ for one reason. Its just another cert on the resume that does not expire. I went and got my CCNA and then later went to get the Network+. If you are studying for the CCNA and passed the test you should be able to pass the Network+ without any difficulties at all.

Hope that helps!
  • Options
    djjunoxdjjunox Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hey germangiant,
    Thanks for the reply. I didn’t mean to say that these two certs are the same, what I was meaning to say was that they cover a lot of the same topics. I guess I am just stuck between which one would benefit me more. I would very much like to pursue a career in the IT field when I get out of the military, but I just don’t know what the best avenue of approach would be. I want to get into networking I know that for sure. Anyway thanks for the info.
  • Options
    kortie1kortie1 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'll say absolutely the CCNA should carry more weight than the Net+. I'll suggest that you go for the CCNA first if you have enough experience in the field of networking and later take the net+. Wish you good luck as you prepare for your exam.
  • Options
    determinedgermandeterminedgerman Member Posts: 168
    Hey djjunox,