BGP Question

wrwarwickwrwarwick Member Posts: 104
Ok, this might be a really dumb question but here goes:

I have just started the BGP studying for the ROUTE exam. I have a basic understanding of BGP and knew a little about it before I started studying but I have a few questions. If an organization runs BGP, say for multihoming, failover purposes, will the organization have the possibility of routing general Internet traffic? Or because they are essentially a "stub" off of an ISP who is closer to the Internet backbone, will they never have to worry about the issue? I assume there is some sort of security with BGP, or couldn't someone just jack up the entire global routing table?

Maybe I will get a clearer picture as I continue learning it, just wanted to throw it out here. I might find these questions silly in the next few days :).

Comments

• cxzar20cxzar20 Member Posts: 168
    You only advertise your public IP space to your ISP. Your provider will likely only accept this route from you anyways. Internet traffic from many sources may hit the PE, but it shouldn't hit your CE. Keep in mind that it is pretty unlikely that the PE is only homed to your site anyways.
  • wrwarwickwrwarwick Member Posts: 104
    cxzar20 wrote: »
    You only advertise your public IP space to your ISP. Your provider will likely only accept this route from you anyways. Internet traffic from many sources may hit the PE, but it shouldn't hit your CE. Keep in mind that it is pretty unlikely that the PE is only homed to your site anyways.

Ahhhh that makes perfect sense. Thanks for the response!
  • ColbyGColbyG Member Posts: 1,264
    It's definitely a concern. Most people will use an AS path ACL (^$) to ensure that they're only advertising prefixes from their own AS. This prevents an enterprise from becoming a transit AS.

SPs will typically filter to ensure this as well, but it can't hurt to be cautious.
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    wrwarwick wrote: »