New member looking for guidance on LPI 201 and compiling the kernel

localhostlocalhost Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just found this site and I wish I found it earlier in my certification journey.

I am currently studying for my LPI 201 test and i'm struggling with compling the kernel. I've found a number of how-to's that have confused me even more. Can anyone point me to a site to walk me through the process of recompling to include or disable features?

thank you for any assistance.

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    localhost wrote: »
    I just found this site and I wish I found it earlier in my certification journey.

I am currently studying for my LPI 201 test and i'm struggling with compling the kernel. I've found a number of how-to's that have confused me even more. Can anyone point me to a site to walk me through the process of recompling to include or disable features?

thank you for any assistance.

Welcome to the Forums, glad you joined us icon_cheers.gif

Try this:
    How to: Compile Linux kernel 2.6

if it doesn't work, please copy the error message you're getting
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

• localhostlocalhost Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks UnixGuy !! was finally able to compile a new kernel.

I am using CentOS and I was trying to use the kernel-devel rpm as soon as I downloaded the kernel from kernel.org it worked.

Part of the install stated not to be logged in as root. I tried this and received permission denied messages, should I have changed the permissions on the files?

Also, I have been supporting a few linux boxes and I have not customized the distribution by compiling updated packages or kernels. I'm curious, is it common to compile updated packages or kernels for production servers? Or, is it better to stick with the distribution updates only?
    Thanks UnixGuy !! was finally able to compile a new kernel.