Need some advice...

=m0nty==m0nty= Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, long time lurker first time poster here. I am currently studying the CompTIA Linux+ certification to fill in some gaps in my knowledge and to learn bits and pieces as I run Linux at home and am comfortable and enjoy learning and working at the command line. I am currently working in a Microsoft environment supporting Active Directory and Exchange servers but have asked my new manager who has come from a Solaris and Red Hat Linux sysadmin job how to migrate over to the world of Linux in a professional environment.

He has recommended that I look into Linux certification if this is the field that I wish to pursue (which it is) and has advised that if I can get certified and prove myself, he may be able to assist in lining me up in a junior role to learn the craft of Linux sysadmin. I am looking into the RHCSA after Linux+ but have a couple of questions:

1) Is this practical for someone with no practical commercial experience in a Linux server environment to achieve?

2) And if so, what is the average amount of study and preparation time it would take to prepare myself to sit for this exam assuming that I am dedicated and committed to studying 10-20 hours per week?

Bit off-topic: I see Linux sysadmin skills include scripting knowledge which is obvious, but I often see besides Bash, Pearl and/or Python knowledge and/or experience. What would you recommend I look at first, and why would anyone choose one over the other (sorry, not too knowledgeable outside of Bash but did a bit of Python several years ago).

Thanks in advance,

=m0nty=

Comments

• varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790