Frame "filtering" terminology

headshotheadshot Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
Todd Lammle describes it as: "If the destination hardware address is known and listed in the database, the frame is only sent out the correct exit interface. This preserves bandwidth on the other network segments and is called frame filtering."

Elsewhere I've heard it described as the switch not forwarding a frame out of the same port it received it on. Like for example say if two devices are connected to a hub which is connected to a switchport. The switch will not forward the frame it receives from one host to another because they are located on the same switchport.

Obviously this is very basic but I would like to have the terminology down and these are two very different instances.

Comments

• AvocadoAvocado Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Although I'm new to networking, I think I can answer this.

Switch
    P1 P2 P3 P4
    | | | |
    | | | |
    | | | |
    Hub Host3 Host4 Host5
    / \
    / \
    / \
    Host1 Host2

The first sentence you wrote about what Todd had said applies when Host5 is sending out something to other hosts on the network.
    Let's say from Host5 to Host4. Switch knows where Host 4 is connected and will only send out the frame to that one port where Host 4 is connected.

The 2nd paragraph about a hub is when Host 1 is sending frames to Host 2. Since Switch knows Host 1 and Host 2 is tied together, the switch will not forward the frame it receives from one host to another, because they are located on the same switchport.

The frame from Host1 would go to the hub. The hub would send it out to the switch and Host 2. The switch will not do anything with it. Host 2 receives the frame from the hub. Frame is delivered.
  • headshotheadshot Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Avocado wrote: »
    Although I'm new to networking, I think I can answer this.

Switch
    P1 P2 P3 P4
    | | | |
    | | | |
    | | | |
    Hub Host3 Host4 Host5
    / \
    / \
    / \