Options

How to make a certain AS exit through the AS of your choice?

creamy_stewcreamy_stew Member Posts: 406 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello!

I'm really no BGP expert, in fact I haven't even started studying for ROUTE yet. However, I'm in need of guidance.

Until recently, we ran full BGP from two different providers, connecting to separate routers. It seems, though, that the Internets have become too many for our routers to handle... I've now asked one of our providers (ISP2) to stop giving us a full table and instead give us only a BGP default route and their own nets.

This made memory usage go down a bit, so now I'm waiting for the other provider to get back to me, so they can do the same thing at their end.

The above change meant that nearly all outbound traffic started exiting through ISP1, which is to be expected, I suppose.

While I'm waiting for ISP2 to get back to me so we can discuss how to proceed, I'd like to try and artificially increase outbound traffic via ISP2. I've identified an AS to which traffic used to exit almost exclusively through ISP2, but now exits through ISP1.

I'd like to make traffic bound for this AS exit through ISP2 instead of ISP1, as long as ISP2 is available (I dont want to risk blackholing the traffic) Is this possible? I'm thinking AS prepending should do the trick? The problem is I don't really know how to implement prepending, or if it really does what I want it to, and since this is a live network, I'd like to have one of you gurus tell me what to do :D

I'm trying to include a diagram for your viewing pleasure. IPs have been changed to protect.. uh, me.

BGP config is as follows:

Y1:

router bgp 12345
no synchronization
bgp router-id 10.10.10.254
bgp log-neighbor-changes
bgp dampening
network 192.168.1.0 mask 255.255.240.0
neighbor 172.24.0.90 remote-as 5678
neighbor 172.24.0.90 description ISP1 ebgp AS5678-Multihop
neighbor 172.24.0.90 eBGP-multihop 255
neighbor 172.24.0.90 route-map send-nothing out