Options

Is A+ even still relevant in the IT field.

mrvl13mrvl13 Member Posts: 46 ■■■□□□□□□□
After 11 years of networking experience I have both Network + and Security +, I read that DHS makes A+ a requirement for a part of computer forensics. But how important is A+ in the Security/Networking field. Comptia likes to call A+,Net+,Sec+, the triad.....what do you guys think.

Comments

• Options
    IEWANNABEIEWANNABE Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'd say that it's nice info to know, even if it's not information that your work requires. I have Sec+ and I'm currently studying to take the CCNA exam in January, but I still want to get the Net+ as well.
  • Options
    MrRyteMrRyte Member Posts: 347 ■■■■□□□□□□
    IMHO; it's one of those certs that any true IT person should have just because. Even the most basic IT job offerings will ask if you have an A+ cert.
    NEXT UP: CompTIA Security+ :study:

Life is a matter of choice not chance. The path to your destiny will be paved by the decisions that you make every day.
  • Options
    drkatdrkat Banned Posts: 703
    not with 10+ years of experience.
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    drkat wrote: »
    not with 10+ years of experience.
    This.

A+ is great if you have no experience, good if you have less than two years of experience, okay if you have less than five years of experience, and pretty much worthless after that unless your career has stagnated. A junior server or network admin with an MCSA or MCITP:SA or a CCNA would generally be expected to have A+ level skills, but wouldn't need to prove it with the actual cert. I'm not saying you won't find some that don't, but I am saying they're pretty rare.

If you've made it well into your career without A+, I wouldn't bother.