Hard exam?

DarklyWiseDarklyWise Member Posts: 75 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a+, Network+ & i-NET+ and am studying for Linux+ right now - how difficult is Server+ compared to the above 3?

Thanks!

DWise
A being Darkly Wise and Rudely Great

Comments

• janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    I found Server+ exam to be quite difficult--much more that Network+ or A+. It has been called "advanced A+". I studied 4 months after passing Net+. The study materials were not that hard to grasp, but the exam was based on troubleshooting/preventative-actions types of scenarios. However, I am very glad that I got the cert since the job that I got after passing the exam takes place right in the data center among the servers.

It's based a lot on server hardware, some NOSs, RAID, redundancy, security, and recovery.

Hope this helps.
    "It doesn't matter, it's in the past!"--Rafiki
  • mistervincemistervince Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    i just brushed over the server+ curriculum about a month ago, and wow, it looked SO indepth. sometimes people underestimate the amount of work and support go into a high-end server. the training that is required is incredible. i think this is primarily due to the amount of versatility and variability of the products. for example, the difference between a Windows Server and a UNIX server is COMPLETELY different, whereas a NetGear Router and a LinkSys Router are pretty much the same. i think that due to the difficulty of this cert, it DEFINITELY draws some weight on your resume.
    Why is SuSE better than Redhat?

Its alllll in the startup scripts. All in the startup scripts. >.<

(\__/)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
    (='.'=)your signature to help him gain world
    (")_(")domination.
  • reloadedreloaded Member Posts: 235
    Thanks for the heads up. Seems June is the month for Server+ in my household. We'll see what happens.
    Reloaded~4~Ever
  • NPA24NPA24 Member Posts: 588 ■■□□□□□□□□