SSCP good as next step for me?

studyguy1studyguy1 Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I think I've decided that I am going to start studying for SSCP after recently passing the CCNA. I had it narrowed down to this and CCNA Security and decided on SSCP mainly for a change of pace. I eliminated the Security+ since I don't think another entry level certification is going to get me a job in this economy. How long did you guys have to study before you passed the test? It took me about two months of studying before I was able to pass the CCNA.

Comments

• DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    I studied the SSCP for about a month before taking it, but my experience isn't the norm. I took it after the Security+ and the CISSP as part of another project. Your Network+ and CCNA knowledge will help for the Networks and Communications domain. Security+ knowledge helps with several other domains but that won't help you since you've decided to skip it.

As an aside, I'm not sure where you live or where you're willing to work, but if you pursue an IT job with the U.S. Department of Defense as either a federal employee or contractor, the Security+ is often required.

Good luck.

Darril Gibson
    Security+ blog
    Security+ Tip Of Day
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    studyguy1 wrote: »
    How long did you guys have to study before you passed the test? It took me about two months of studying before I was able to pass the CCNA.
    How long it takes anyone to study for an exam depends on a lot of personal factors, such as how much do you already know about the exam's topics, what materials you study, and how well you study the material. These factors will be different or everybody.

You should be able to get an idea of how long you will need by looking over the exam's objectives and available materials. Nobody can give a more accurate estimate of the time and effort needed to study for an exam than yourself.