Nothing more boring than Project Management

swildswild Member Posts: 828
I'm studying for the Project+ exam using the Sybex book and I have never read anything that is this horribly dry. I'm finding odd jobs around my house to keep me occupied just so I don't have to sit and read this. I really hope that actual project management is more interesting. I actually sat and watched paint dry yesterday instead of studying.

What's the best ways you guys have found of keeping focused and just powering through. Red Bull and coffee was my secret in college but that isn't cutting it this time.

Comments

• spiderjerichospiderjericho Registered Users, Member Posts: 890 ■■■■■□□□□□
    The most boring cents I've studied for was Project+.

If I studied for CISSP and ITILv3 exams vice taking a class and guessing, they'd be just as bad.

Imagine if you were studying for PMP?

I studied for this at the tail end of last year. I actually bull dozed through it. But some it was a refresher from a technical writing class I took at UMUC.

My advice go slow. Read a chapter a day, maybe in the afternoon. Do practice tests if you have the Sybex book. Or you can try creating a scenario and applying the concepts.
  • swildswild Member Posts: 828
    I have my test scheduled on Dec 8. So far it's been a chapter a day. The the end of chapter quizes are helping to cement the topics. The economic models are all the same to me, especially discounted cash flows vs NPV.

Security is my IT focus so I really like everything in the CISSP, just a ton of info to cover.

Forget about the PMP, this obviously isn't my path.
  • spiderjerichospiderjericho Registered Users, Member Posts: 890 ■■■■■□□□□□
    swild wrote: »
    I have my test scheduled on Dec 8. So far it's been a chapter a day. The the end of chapter quizes are helping to cement the topics. The economic models are all the same to me, especially discounted cash flows vs NPV.