Design recommendations for Network of 75 hosts

nethackernethacker Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I am no professional in the area of design so i want to ask for a recommendation as regards the above subject. A friend of mine who is a newbie in cisco world was made the network admin of a small hotel with 50 employees and approximately 75 hosts on the existing network.From what he explained to me,there are 7 different departments and all hosts in that building reside on the same subnet(A bad design IMO).The existing infrastructure include 3x24ports 3Comm switches(which has no password to),a modem connecting to the ISP and a linksys router.The management are not willing to spend much on IT infrastructure. He wants to migrate to cisco equipments so he asked for my advice and invited me to come assist him in the design and implementation aspect. From my little knowledge and experience, these are my recommendations.
Hardware:
1) 1 x 1800 series router with FW capabilities
2) 3 x 24ports catalyst 2960 series switches

Design:

1) Configure 7 vlans excluding VLAN 1 and inter vlan routing
2) configure basic firewall commands on the router to prevent DDoS and IP snooping.
3) trunk link between the router & a switch then i will enable VTP on the switches.

I'll like experts in the house to guide me if I am not making the right choice of equipments and/or configurations.
JNCIE | CCIE | GCED

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think the problem here is you're looking at an enterprise approach to a small business solution. It's totally impractical to create a subnet for each department, especially with the relatively low security requirements of the hospitality industry. As long as the end-user nodes and the servers are locked down properly, there are neither traffic nor security concerns for having 75 hosts on one subnet.