Options

ISDN on CCNA 640-801

masadullmasadull Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

This is my first post on these forums, so hi to all of you. I just remmember reading on here that ISDN is not on the 640-801 exam and since I am currently on the ISDN and Dial on Demand Routing chapter on the CISCO ICND Book by W. Odom (Chapter 10), I just wanted to know if there is any truth to that, or I should read this topic for sure? Also, just wanted to know everyone's opinion on whether these 2 books by Odom (INTRO AND ICND) are good and sufficient books to study from? or I should also invest in something else? I also have the 600+ question practice test with all the topics categorized which I am also studying. Any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I plan to take my test in the next month or two. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    johnnynodoughjohnnynodough Member Posts: 634
    Even though you may not get very many questions regarding ISDN, you need to read the whole chapter through and through. Cisco guarentees that a CCNA has the aptitude to support a small network (1-50 nodes I belevie) including configuration and troubleshooting of ISDN, point to point links, and Frame Relay. So make sure you know how to do it, as its is part of being a true CCNA.
    Go Hawks - 7 and 2

2 games againts San Fran coming up, oh yeah baby, why even play? just put then in the win category and call it good :p
  • Options
    OK got it, any opinions/suggestions on my choice of books and overall preperation material?
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Hi to you too,

I recommend using a practice lab with real routers/switches or a lab simulator (ie. boson routersim) in addition to the books and practice exams.
  • Options
    silver_225silver_225 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□