Icnd1 and 2 or Composite

Skoal_ManSkoal_Man Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just wanted a little advice. As you can see in my profile, I currently have Net+ sand Sec+ certs. I want to obtain the CCNA. I've been working in InfoSec for going on 2 months now. I was a database admin for a 3rd party hosted database for 3 years prior in a very small business. I'm now in InfoSec for a large corporation. I've been getting some hands on work with Cisco switches at my new job and I enjoy working with them. So a CCNA would help with that and help with continuing learning more about InfoSec.

Giving my experience would everyone still suggest the two test route?

Comments

• ciscoman2012ciscoman2012 Member Posts: 313
    Skoal_Man wrote: »
    Just wanted a little advice. As you can see in my profile, I currently have Net+ sand Sec+ certs. I want to obtain the CCNA. I've been working in InfoSec for going on 2 months now. I was a database admin for a 3rd party hosted database for 3 years prior in a very small business. I'm now in InfoSec for a large corporation. I've been getting some hands on work with Cisco switches at my new job and I enjoy working with them. So a CCNA would help with that and help with continuing learning more about InfoSec.

Giving my experience would everyone still suggest the two test route?

I like the 2 certification for the fact that:

1. You can break up the learning so you don't have to learn everything at once. I couldn't imagine learning all ICND1 and ICND2 and taking one test on it.
    2. You get two certifications, CCENT for ICND1 and CCNA for ICND2. Not that having two certifications really changes that much...but I would rather have both CCENT and CCNA than just CCNA. Just my personal opinion though..
  • drumrolfedrumrolfe Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□