What's the best NIC for briding a GNS3 network with real switches?

Magik SmokeMagik Smoke Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All! First post here.

I'm a former CCNA "re-certifying" via 640-822/816. This is my first time playing with GNS3 but I have a "real hardware" test rack.

4x 2651s
2x 2950s (running the crypto/SSH image)
1x 3550 (running the L3 image)

I want to bridge my virtual GNS3 topology(frame relay) out to my switch stack and back to the same PC running a VirtualBox end node.

This leads to a couple of questions:
A) Does anyone know of a good "How-To" for this task?

B) Some of my reading suggests that Vlan Tagging with sub-interfaces is possible... but only with the correct NICs.
Which NIC hardware best supports what I want to do?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    If you like Linux, then I think you should give this a try. Linux Bridging for GNS3 LAN communications

I don't think what you are asking has anything to do with the "correct" NICs. As long as you are connecting it to any type of Ethernet interface on the routers/switches in GNS3, then it should work. Connecting your PC's NIC to an actual router's WIC-1DSU-T1-V2 interface will probably not work.
  • Magik SmokeMagik Smoke Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If you like Linux, then I think you should give this a try. Linux Bridging for GNS3 LAN communications

I don't think what you are asking has anything to do with the "correct" NICs. As long as you are connecting it to any type of Ethernet interface on the routers/switches in GNS3, then it should work. Connecting your PC's NIC to an actual router's WIC-1DSU-T1-V2 interface will probably not work.

Thanks, I had not seen that. ... I got a little ahead of myself. This is a windows host OS and the VBox guest is XP.