Options

CISSP Expectations

JWitJWit Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm new to these forums, but I was looking for a little insight. I recently graduated college with a B.S. in IS and recently passed the Security+ exam with an 883. I have a little over two years of experience in network security. With that being said I'm currently in the process of moving towards some C&A work and want to take the CISSP exam and become an Associate CISSP until I can fufill the work experience requirement. My plan is to study for about two hours per night for the next six months using Shon Harris AIO, ISC2 official guide and the Shon Harris lecture videos. With my experience and my study plan do you think I could accomplish this feat or is my lack of experience to much to overcome?

Comments

• Options
    DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Can you do it? Absolutely. You have a good plan and based on your other education I say that it is definitely within your grasp.

Not sure if you've looked at it or not, but with two years of experience you have the requirements for the SSCP so don't need to go the Associate route. You can use it as a stepping stone and the knowledge you gain while studying for the SSCP will help you when you take the CISSP.

Darril Gibson
    Security Blog
  • Options
    AtomicfrogAtomicfrog Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    By all means, if you have the momentum, keep plugging away at those certifications, if for no other reason than to keep your edge. if I can offer any advice at all, it would be to build a solid understanding of the technologies that put the "Info" in InfoSec. By this I mean, network engineering, storage area networking, and software engineering. If you're going to be doing C&A work, you'll need to understand how these technologies work so that you can speak the language and make informed decisions and not just the dreaded "Box Checker".
  • Options