Job or Personal Growth?

kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
Right now I work in the government sector (non career conditional) and although it's got good pay and benefits, the potential to move up, or have additional jobs responsibilities mainly due to someone else having that responsibility. Now I have the same job security like anyone else, and the thought of a possible retirement in 30 years seems appealing, but isn't guaranteed.

Plus the whole pay freeze and the fact that my job doesn't have the money to pay for training really puts a damper on things as far as personal job growth.

I have a pretty good range of things to work on SA wise using W2K8 Server, AD, Group policies, some website work, and installing XP or W7 images on workstations. I'm in the process of finishing my BS degree this year, and after that I'm gonna be looking at my next certification. I'd like to start with CCNA, but I wish there was going to be some sort of pay off or incentive job wise.

How many of you have gotten certifications and aren't really using it job wise, but are using it for more personal growth than anything else?

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You have two MCSEs and MCITP:EA. CCNA is not going to enhance your value at all unless you make a big career shift. That said, getting CCNA is a great way to round out your skills and can have practical uses for a systems administrator or engineer. But yeah, there's really no incentive for you to get it.

I took Security+ last year as a way to round out my own skills, even though at the time it really wasn't going to be applicable to what I was doing. I'm doing the same with CCNA this year, and will probably go into deeper security certifications. It's all for personal growth, because there are only so many job-related certifications I can do without switching jobs.