Moving to the dark side - CCIE in 2012

jameshardy2012jameshardy2012 Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I've decided to make the leap to the dark side of IT and take on the huge challenge of the CCIE R&S. To give a bit of background, I have over 13 years experience in Wintel and Virtualisation. I have some previous Cisco consultancy experience from a previous company mostly dealing with switch and router installations. why am I attempting the CCIE? Well in my role as a Wintel & Virtualisation engineer I always found myself talking techy with the network guys so I decided to go learn it - at least then I would know what they are talking about :D.

So 2 years down the road I have completed the CCENT, CCNA and CCNP and have been caught by the networking bug. My quest now is to attempt to gain the CCIE R&S.

I know that its going to be a slog and lots of work will need to be put in, but I'm used to it - I love studying - honest. I've used GNS/Dynamips exstensively for the last year and have also bought a home lab with Ubuntu ( 12Nics) and 4 switches to build a lab system. I also have the INE materials for CCNP and CCIE along with dozens of books that I aquired over time thans to friends and colleagues.

I hope to at least attempt the lab in Dec 2012. Obviously I dont work in a network role at the moment so it will be challenging..

My study plan follows the INE expanded blueprint INE CCIE R/S 4.X Expanded Study Blueprint with links | Initial Draft - CCIE Blog - I think doing the CCIP along the way to learn MPLS, BGP and QoS would be beneficial ( any thoughts on that? )

One thing I have had drummed into me by CCIE colleagues is debug.... How useful is the debug command - Knowing how things debug when working properly sure helps when troubleshooting. An old saying I stay faithful to is. "How do you know its not working if you dont know how it looks when it is working"