Options

Have NET+, Need Some Advice on how to build my Resume. MCITP or MCSA? Please Help!

RobAndresRobAndres Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working as a one-man IT department for a small business for 4.5 years. I'm looking to take the next step in my career, but my resume is not doing me any favors. My Bachelor's degree is in Construction Management, but I fell into IT because I'm a natural born problem solver and I have a high aptitude for anything technical.

My employer paid for me to get my CompTIA NET+ a few years ago, which I passed in about 3 weeks. My job search has been discouraging because it seems that I need some certs on my resume to be taken seriously, in spite of the fact that I have nearly 5 years of experience. That being said, I'm looking for the path of least resistance to get some certs added to my resume.

MCSA seems like the answer, as most of my experience is with a Windows XP/Server 2003 environment. The question is: would I be wasting my time to get this cert when it is clearly becoming obsolete in favor of the MCITP track?

If MCSA is the right choice:
Since I have the NET+, would it be easier to get the A+, or just take one of the other elective exams to cover the elective requirement? I never got the A+ because it seemed like a waste of time, as I had already been building systems for years.

Here are my choices (remember: Path of least resistance):
1. MCSA: (70-290, 291, 270(WinXP) and CompTIA A+) In this case A+ and existing NET+ cover elective.
2. MCSA: (70-290, 291, 270, 680(Win7))
3. Forget about the Antiquated MCSA and put in the extra time and effort on an MCITP track.

Please Advise. (thank you for reading my lengthy post)
I am open to other suggestions, as well.

-Rob

Comments

• Options
    47 views and no advice? I'm a little disappointed, to say the least.