New here and Just Passed my GCIH

LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
Hi All,

To start of, I would like to introduce myself that I am from Singapore, I only have 2 years work experience and have gotten my CEH 22 Nov last year and just passed my GCIH 16 Jan (on this monday), both by self study means. I have planned to go into GIAC certifications instead of a degree after reviewing my local degree courses and found them disappointed in the info sec sector.

Anyway, just sharing my GCIH experience for those who are interested. The actual test and the practice test questions are entirely different. But still for the test it is good to refer to those books (with indexing) actively, answering the question hastily is definitely not recommended. I won't recommend question **** at all as it won't help much.

Back to topic, I actually took 22 Days to complete my GCIH self study (started Dec) and I am currently studying my GCUX now (about 50% completion, started studying before GCIH exam) and planned for it for February or March.I spend most of my travelling time (including walking) and free time studying. I would like to have some opinions on the following.

G2700 - Is this certification really important and does it cover any CISSP topics? I notice some companies are looking for people with knowledge of 2700x series compliance. Is it a must for everyone in the industry to know this?
GSEC - I know this is an important certification, but it cover a wide range of topic, I wonder if it have any applicability in real life work environment?
GCFW - Has anyone taken this? Is this test hard to pass?

Comments

• kiran_09kiran_09 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,

Congrats for passing GCIH. Can i know what books/resources did you refer for GCIH exam.

Regards,
    Kiran
  • LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
    To add on to this List I will recommend