Easy exam??

abravesabraves Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Was wondering your input on the new Server+. I kept hearing from everyone that this exam was hard. I took it last Wednesday and I found it VERY easy to be honest with you. I studied for about 2 hours just reviewing RAID configuration and SCSI. Thats the 2 biggest topics that wound up being on the test as well. I thought this exam was easier than the Net+ and the A+. What do you guys think??
B.J. Crowder
Computer Systems Technology II Instructor
Interim Director of Technology
President - Security Systems Consulting, LLC

Comments

• TheShadowTheShadow Member Posts: 1,057 ■■■■■■□□□□
    It depends, I see that you are a technology instructor which means that you probably stay current on all the new technologies. CompTIA tests are also random draws for the questions, you may have gotten an easy test. If you look at the syllabus for the exam you will see what was all bleeding edge technologies 6 to 10 months ago on it. S-ATA, USB2, S-SCSI, faster firewire etc. Most people have not heard of serial suzzy and some not even Serial ATA. Many think PCI-E is a faster parallel bus, You could have gotten questions on any of those which you probably knew but are not on A+.

Anyway if you thought it was easier than A+ I don't know how to grok that, since I keep reading about people failing it the first time; unless they recently lowered the passing score requirement or pulled some of the harder questions out. Many say that was done to Security+ to raise the pass rate. Even though I passed the first Server+ right after it came out, I took the new beta just to see what had changed and thought the difficulty level was higher; shrug. I did not particularly study for either version but these tests were designed for persons that actually work with servers on a daily basis for a couple of years. I would still advise people not to underestimate this test because of its potential breath of knowledge requirement.