Does this sound like a good plan? If not please advise.

tonyg1tonyg1 Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

Well, I would like a little advice if this sounds like a good plan... I have no job experience besides a few years being a computer tech back in 1996-1997. So I know I cannot just get a cert or B.S. and get a job especially without experience.
I am married with two children which means I need my full time job which is nothing computer related. I would love to be able to get a part time job or volunteer but not an option.

I do know I would like to get into security and eventually forensics.

I thought to bypass the comptia a+ cert as it is only valid for three years. Instead I thought to take network+ and security plus+ to get my feet wet. I do know alot of the a+ already just am not going to take the test.

Does this sound like a good plan that can land me a job?
Network+, Security+, SSCP, CISSP I thought of even going to WGU for a b.s. in security as well on top of the above. thank you for your time.

Comments

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Network + and Security + expire as well.

My opinion is deskside support and helpdesk don't really care about specific certs as long as you have something that shows them on paper you aren't a complete noob. Look at it from there eyes, (Is this a high risk candidate to bring into our environment)?

If security is what you like then security is what you should go after. Doesn't make much sense to me to get A+ or N+ if you want to focus on security. Get security + it's a great ice breaker and there is a great book that 95% of the forum has used to get passing grades on the exam. (Just search the security + forum and you'll find it).

Your certification plan looks solid. SSCP, CISSP, and don't forget about the CASP. All really awesome certifications, but that is a bit off.