Looking for guidance

cpnocpno Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I'm an accountant looking to transition into the IT field. From the research I've done, I've gathered that I should take the A+ exam first. My questions are as follows:
1. Is it necessary for me to get an IT related degree? (I already have an accounting degree)
2. Is there a certification/career path I can follow that might perhaps utilize my accounting/business knowledge?
Thanks everyone!

Comments

• AlexNguyenAlexNguyen Member Posts: 358 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Have you considered the IS audit career path ? There are many accountants getting CISA
    (Certified Information Systems Auditor) certfication.
    Knowledge has no value if it is not shared.
    Knowledge can cure ignorance, but intelligence cannot cure stupidity.
  • cpnocpno Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply. What exactly does a CISA do?
  • AlexNguyenAlexNguyen Member Posts: 358 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Knowledge has no value if it is not shared.
    Knowledge can cure ignorance, but intelligence cannot cure stupidity.
  • cpnocpno Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Awesome, thanks!
  • dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    1. Is it necessary for me to get an IT related degree? (I already have an accounting degree)

Really depends where you want to work, how much exposure you've had with the I.T field and how much you currently know.
  • kamoimkamoim Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    hi Team

my name is Molefi and i am currently having the following certificates :
    IT college diploma NQF Level 4
    MCSA
    ITIL v3
    Comptia a+
    Network+
    MCP, so do i qualify to study for CISA certification?
  • powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,665 ■■■■■■■■□□