Enough equipment for CCNP & CCIE Lab?

ITtech2010ITtech2010 Member Posts: 92 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I just wanted to verify if I have enough equipment for both labs. I am trying to acquire my CCNP and CCIE within the next couple of yrs. I would like to in 2 yrs but i don't know how quick i'll be able too considering I am new to networking :)

My co-workers and I purchased a desktop pc with 3 quad nics 16gb of ram and 1TB hdd , Intel Core i7-2700K 3.5GHz processor

This is the current Cisco equipment we have

(3) 3560 Switches (2) 24-T (1) 48-T
(1) 3640 Router (Has multiple serial interfaces and could be used as our frame relay device)
(2) 2600 Router
(1) 2500 Router
(5) Pix 505E firewalls
(1) ASA5500 Firewall

We plan on installing Ubuntu and GNS3 on the pc. This will help us with creating a bunch of labs but I want to be sure I have enough physical device to complete everything just in case. Thanks.

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    It depends on the models and IOS's you ahve available. That's more than enough for the CCNP. For CCIE, it depends on which track you're going to follow, but you'll probably need at least one more switch.
  • ITtech2010ITtech2010 Member Posts: 92 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the feedback

Most likely our lab would be for the Routing and Switching exam. Would I still need one more router for our topology?
  • Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    ITtech2010 wrote: »
    Thanks for the feedback

Most likely our lab would be for the Routing and Switching exam. Would I still need one more router for our topology?

Well if you're going to do GNS3 and bridge the GNS3 interfaces to the switches, then you don't need any routers, they can all be emulated. If you're going to do a full hardware lab, then you need many more routers, 8 to 12 total, depending on which vendor you're using
  • SubnetZeroSubnetZero Member Posts: 124