CISSP -= instructor led

CiderCider Member Posts: 88 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

i have been working for an AV vendor for 5 years, manage the tech support there and do alot of network related diagnostic troubleshooting in various environments.

I have had some read into CISSP for some time now but put it at the back of my mind.

Now I received a brochure for an instructor led course (5 day) , its quite expensive , maybe 5k dollars or so. Im from South africa so I havent checked the exchange rate.

The question/s is ...

1) Is this cert worth it?
2) Will this 5 day course get me through the exam?

Thanks for a great site.

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    As someone who doesn't have CISSP and wants it but lacks the required experience, here is my mostly unqualified opinion: The CISSP certification is definitely worth pursuing, but a 5-day class for $5,000 is not worth it. I've not heard of many CISSPs going with an instructor-led course to prepare for the certification. I think rigorous book study with practice exams should be sufficient. Obviously you should see what the actual CISSPs say about this, though.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    CISSP certification requires 4+ years of professional Information Security experience in at least two domains of the CISSP CBK. It doesn't sound like you have that thus far in your career.