MrAgent's Daily log Redhat course 124

MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
This is a daily log of my experiences during the Redhat training course RH124.

Monday - Day 1
There are 10 people enrolled in this course. Introductions were made and it appears that most people in this course have some experience in different forms of Unix. After telling the instructor wha I do for a living and what I use RHEL for, I am told by the instructor that this course will probably be pretty boring for me as it is very basic. I am told that everything in the exam forAfter a long introduction from everyone in the course we went over the daily topics in the course. Every topic covered has tasks at the end of the chapter to ensure the student understands what is being covered.We have a course book which comes with a DVD with the RHEL software, a pen, and some note paper.Every student also has a machine preinstalled with the RHEL software and various labs we will be doing.We started by getting a basic over view of the OS. Including access to the various menus. Some of the tasks we briefly looked at were (all of this was done by using the gnome GUI)
  • Editing the about me information
  • Editing user profiles including customizing the terminal windows
  • Location of documentation
  • Logging in, switching users, and changing password
  • Restarting a shutting down
After this we went into learning more about gedit. This is the basic text editor included with RHEL. I am told that all tools which are included in the RHEL repository are allowed and will be able to be installed during the RHCSA exam. The instructor briefly went over vim and nano.With in gedit we had some tasks we had to complete to ensure understanding of how to create, edit, and delete files.The tasks included
  • Creating a new document
  • Finding and replacing words in gedit
  • Basic editing
  • Saving documents