VOIP performance

chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
Hi All, i am interested in your guy's take on how to manage and evaluate VOIP performance on a network?

Although i am an a network engineer and i see to it that i get the best flow for Voice traffic, at some points there is this "it was the network" ghost response to all voip problems instead of the actual voip components themselfs. It seems to be a very lazy and crude generalization of the network. I look at switch logs, port counters, MPLS statistics and bandwidth utilization, netflows , to see if I can catch anything that could hog up resources that would produce poor VOIP quality. We run Avaya stuff and our Voice guys arent really network engineers and have little experience in that area.

I was looking at this book, does anyone have any experience with this book or with any good tools or utilities to monitor voip performance/quality ?

http://www.amazon.com/Performance-Management-Optimization-Networking-Technology/dp/1587055287/ref=wl_it_dp_o_npd?ie=UTF8&coliid=IF3TC5NY48JJJ&colid=2R1R0S9FPG0X

Thanks!
Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX

Comments

• SubnetZeroSubnetZero Member Posts: 124
    One thing you could do is setup IP SLA's to monitor jitter

In the following example, two operations are configured as UDP jitter operations, with operation 2 starting five seconds after the first operation. Both operations will run indefinitely.

Cisco Example:

ip sla monitor 1
    type jitter dest-ipaddr 20.0.10.3 dest-port 65051 num-packets 20
    request-data-size 160
    tos 128
    frequency 30
    ip sla monitor schedule 1 start-time after 00:05:00
    !
    ip sla monitor 2
    type jitter dest-ipaddr 20.0.10.3 dest-port 65052 num-packets 20 interval 10
    request-data-size 20
    tos 64
    frequency 30
    ip sla monitor schedule 2 start-time after 00:05:05