TSHOOT passed now CCNP

borumasborumas Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all, been awhile since I have posted here. I finally got off my duff and passed the TSHOOT today. It took a second try to get it done and I could kick myself for not buckling down and reviewing the topology more before my first attempt.

Here's what I used in studying to help others out:

Cisco TSHOOT guide
Boson Ex-Sim-Max for TSHOOT
Cisco TSHOOT topology (I studied this vigorously until I could draw the topology out from memory before my second attempt)
GNS3 (used it for studying the topology, also very helpful in prepping me for the test)

The Boson sim was very helpful in getting me to streamline my trouble-shooting steps and learning when I missed things, as they give explanations for what was wrong and how you could find the problem.

Biggest advice I can give is to really nail down the topology, lab it up in GNS3, get it into memory so that you know the details of the configuration- it will save you a lot of time in the test.

I should now be a CCNP, from Cisco's site:
"In accordance with our policy, we will continue to accept passing scores on retired exams until their expiration date—three years from the date the exam was taken."

My BCMSN test was set to expire soon, so I was cutting it short but nailed it. :)

Comments

• wavewave Member Posts: 342
    Congrats!!!

ROUTE Passed 1 May 2012
    SWITCH Passed 25 September 2012
    TSHOOT Passed 23 October 2012
    Taking CCNA Security in April 2013 then studying for the CISSP
  • MrBrianMrBrian Member Posts: 520
    Congrats on the NP!! Any new certifications on deck?
    Currently reading: Internet Routing Architectures by Halabi
  • RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congratulations!
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• SubnetZeroSubnetZero Member Posts: 124