What objectives did you find the hardest to learn or understand?

YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
^ that was pretty much the whole question lol. Feel free to add anything else.

Comments

• brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549
    I don't know about posts that say, I studied for a month and passed Linux+. This really doesn't make sense to me. It seems a certification should show that you know the subject. How can anyone say they know an OS after a month? I haven't sat down and really studied Linux+ yet, but after a cursory look at the material, there is nothing that stands out as being difficult. I'm not saying I could pass the test right now, otherwise I'd take it. There is a lot of material to cover and learn, but nothing particularly difficult. I do know we hired someone with a Linux+ cert, and the poor guy just didn't know anything. We have SkillSoft at work, and I have taken and passed those tests, but as I said earlier, I wouldn't sit down at take the test. We a requirement to get our Solaris System Administration Certification. I purchased two books, a DVD for Solaris, read the books twice, and attended a class. In addition we had two SPARC workstations we could practice on. I finally took both tests and passed. On the other hand we had a 2nd employees who showed up without any certifications. He too was required to get the Sol Cert. He tried to memorize practice tests and nothing else. He had access to the same workstations I used to set up ZFS, iSCCI, and Zones. He never touched one of them. He failed the first test twice at $300 a pop, and never made it beyond that point. He was finally let go. The point I am trying to make is there isn't any short cut to knowing the subject. I have one Linux+ book, and ordered the Nutshell today. I probably will order some video tapes as well. I want the Linux+ because I am only interested in supporting Unix and Linux. I work in DOD and jobs are always asking for the cert. Even though I can sho