DSL + Home Phone Line + CME + CUE

OverdashOverdash Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am studying CCNA Voice and am wanting to use some of my Cisco lab equipment on my home network and I have a few questions as far as hardware goes. I will be using an AT&T Internet+Phone Line bundle and want to get 1 router to handle WAN + VOIP.

What router would you recommend for this setup, and what Modules would you recommend as well? I know that I will need a DSL modem card (Which one is best?) for internet, and the NME-CUE for Unity.

Thanks guys!

Comments

• NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I have CME running on a 2691 with VIC-2FXS and VIC-2FXO cards. The voice portion of my lab also has a 3550 PoE switch to power the phones (2 x 7940). My analog phones plug into the FXS card. The FXO card can connect to the PSTN but I haven't got that far yet as I'm trying to finish up my CCNP before I get back to my voice studies.

I connect to DSL with a 2621 using PPPoE. It connects to a DSL modem that was converted to a bridge. Not sure if a DSL modem card would let you connect, it probably depends on the ISP.

Good luck with your lab.
  • OverdashOverdash Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Netwurk wrote: »
    I have CME running on a 2691 with VIC-2FXS and VIC-2FXO cards. The voice portion of my lab also has a 3550 PoE switch to power the phones (2 x 7940). My analog phones plug into the FXS card. The FXO card can connect to the PSTN but I haven't got that far yet as I'm trying to finish up my CCNP before I get back to my voice studies.

I connect to DSL with a 2621 using PPPoE. It connects to a DSL modem that was converted to a bridge. Not sure if a DSL modem card would let you connect, it probably depends on the ISP.

Good luck with your lab.

Thanks! +REP