Options

Sort of a Security question..........

dave0212dave0212 Member Posts: 287
I have a decision to make and wondered what the communities take on it is; bowing.gif

My CCNA/CCNA:Security is due to expire in a few months, now I do not work with Cisco kit in any sense, the network in my current company is Juniper although I still wouldn't work with it as I am not a Network Engineer, however I do work alongside Network Engineers and interact regularly and review designs etc....

My role is becoming more design and security centric so have to understand networking to a good degree.. So..

My question is;

Is it worth renewing my CCNA?

The focus in my career is security; for the immediate future, that is infrastructure security, vulnerability assessments and designing solutions to mitigate risks in relation to ISO27001; eventually with a look to move in to Managerial Security.

I know there is no major value in holding the CCNA/CCNA:Security certification as it is primarily a technical cert for managing Cisco equipment.

The Network Engineers have recommended that if I do decide to renew I should look at the CCDA as a renewal path as it is more relevant as it is fairly open knowledge to be applied to any vendor

The main reason I want to renew is I put considerable effort (6 months) in to my original certification (score 959) but is it worth the time and cost to maintain it on my CV from a security point of view that could be potentially be used elsewhere? icon_study.gif

Thoughts? icon_scratch.gif

Thanks in advance
This week I have achieved unprecedented levels of unverifiable productivity

Working on
Learning Python and OSCP

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    I'm moving this thread to the CCNA:Security sub-forum where it will get more play.
  • Options
    spicy ahispicy ahi Member Posts: 413 ■■□□□□□□□□