Linux+ Can my expectations be met?

RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
I tried searching, but wasn't able to find this type of question:

I have very little to nil experience with Linux. I'm hoping that Linux+ will be the way to get experience, and atleast have a "Guide" to show me around.

I've always been interested with Linux, but never really had a place to call my own.

I'm not interested in the certification. But more so just the experience of learning. If I decide to go for it, sometime down the road, I'll study for the exam - but it's not the top of the list.
In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You could study for it. Main thing with Linux/Unix is to get a distro and hardware and start working with it hands on. It's just no good being certified in this stuff without the hours at the command line. Say a couple of hundred at least.
  • afcyungafcyung Member Posts: 212
    Turgon wrote: »
    You could study for it. Main thing with Linux/Unix is to get a distro and hardware and start working with it hands on. It's just no good being certified in this stuff without the hours at the command line. Say a couple of hundred at least.

Turgon,

Would you have book you recommend for learning Unix? When I was in technical training for the military we had a whole course on unix but that was 5 years ago. And I was hoping to get back into it.
  • TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You are too hung up on books. Buy a netra off ebay for a few dollars, google how to connect to it and reset the root password and then try and get the thing on your network. Practice how to edit files on a UNIX box. That's how it begins.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Turgon wrote: »

Agreed