Can you go from CCNA to CCNA voice

beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for CCENT/CCNA and I was wondering if I can go from CCNA to CCNA voice. A lot of people say you should do CCNP first but to me CCNA is getting more and more like CCNP with all of the stuff they are adding to it. Anyway I have a Telecommunications background and been in IT for close to 10 years but I would say my passion is voice. I was just wondering.

Comments

• RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/74444-moving-into-voice.html
    Sharkdiver has CCNA:V and CCNP. I would listen to him as he passed both exams and can tell you if things overlap.
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Roguetadhg wrote: »
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/74444-moving-into-voice.html
    Sharkdiver has CCNA:V and CCNP. I would listen to him as he passed both exams and can tell you if things overlap.
    Thanks so much. I just checked out Sharkdivers post. I will probably just go ccna and CCNA Voice because I want to get right into it.
  • chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
    There is no reason you should feel required to go get your CCNP before you attempt any of the other CCNA specialties. To me, the point of the CCNA specialties is to give you an insight into which part of the networking world you want to live in. Try a few of them, or at least poke around in their study material, before you go full fledged into any of the professional level certifications. I tried to pass my BSCI exam and my SWITCH exam before I tried to get my CCNA:Voice, and I failed both of them. Once I touched voice topics, I knew why I couldn't pass the CCNP exams: It wasn't the same passion.