How long should I stay at first IT job? - Tier 1

keeranbrikeeranbri Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I'm not really new to this site, but I have not posted in awhile. Ever since October 2011 i have been working as a Tier 1 level helpdesk agent as a contractor untill now so that is about 5 months now. This is my first IT job ever since I finished my Bachelors degree in technical management and concentration in network communications back in 2010

I do all the basics that a level 1 helpdesk does and i'm sure everyone in here knows the jobs duties.
How long should I stay untill I start looking for another IT job with possibly more money or do most people stay for about a year or two before moving on to get that experience or has anyone ever left a contract job within 3 months or so and got a better offer.
i'm eager just to update my resume and apply to some jobs to see what happens.
Also, I have my bachelors degree but no certifications, so which certifications do you recommend would be a good foundation overall.

Comments

• bertstarebertstare Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    1 year is a good minimum to shoot for. I'd say stay until you are not learning anything new and become bored. Meanwhile, be sure to decide which certs you want to obtain, and keep studying.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    bertstare wrote: »
    1 year is a good minimum to shoot for. I'd say stay until you are not learning anything new and become bored. Meanwhile, be sure to decide which certs you want to obtain, and keep studying.

All good points

I would also add that try to do the best job you can you might end up getting promoted.
  • RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Im here for 2 years now? I quite like having a job. Yes, I can go look for another job right away... but the best thing about this current job is that I have time for myself, to study.